Land Preservation Committee

The Land Preservation Committee (LPC) is comprised of up to 12 individuals appointed by the Board of Supervisors to advocate for, and promote land preservation in Solebury. The committee is assisted by legal counsel and technical expertise from consultants from Heritage Conservancy, Natural Land Trust and the Bedminster Regional Land Conservancy.

Responding to a mandate by Solebury's citizens to preserve land and conserve natural resources, (four referendums totaling $44 million have been approved by an overwhelming 90% of Township residents), members of the LPC work individually with land owners to eliminate development potential on their properties with either gifted or purchased conservation easements. The LPC's approach has always been a unique "neighbor working with neighbor to save our community" initiative.

Solebury's Land Preservation program is recognized as a model, locally, statewide and nationally.

Citizens wishing to become involved with the Land Preservation effort should contact Jean Weiss, Administrator, at 215-297-0347 or send a resume to Gretchen Rice, Assistant Township Manager, Secretary/Treasurer - P.O. Box 139, 3092 Sugan Road, Solebury, PA 18963.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Jean Weiss Administrator (215) 297-5656
Gretchen K Rice Assistanat Township Manager, Secretary / Treasurer (215) 297-5656

Committee Members

Name Title
James Coan Member
Malcolm Crooks Member
Richard Irwin Member
Phil Johnson Member
Stanely Marcus Member
Edric Mason, Jr. Member
Eva Mazurs Member
Kay McBride Member
Ralph O’Banion Member
Karl Pettit Member
Jean Weiss Administrator (non-voting)
Terry W. Clemons, Esquire Solicitor
Jim Searing Supervisor Liaison